Composite cyanotype photograph of Oregon Agricultural College buildings. Buildings shown starting at the top left are: Mechanical Hall, Fairbanks Hall and The Greenhouses. View of campus with Benton Hall in background. Women's Center Building (Station Building), Alpha Hall, The Farm and Benton Hall in the center of photo
In addition to classroom and lab work, OAC students studying entomology in 1890 were required to do fieldwork during their third year. According to the 1890-91 college catalog, “each student will, under the instructor’s direction, learn how to work with insecticides, and will be required to carry on experiments to discover the best means of preventing insect ravages.”
Pictured from left to right are B.W. Johnson, J. Fred Yates, Helen Holgate (accompanist), H.L. Holgate, and John Fulton. B.W. Johnson was a local orchardist. H.L. Holgate was a lawyer who worked as the district counsel for the Department of the Interior. Helen Holgate graduated from OAC in 1895 with a BS in domestic science and arts; she later worked in the college's Clerical Exchange. J. Fred Yates served a term as mayor of Corvallis and was also a City Attorney, Municipal Judge and member of the OSC Board of Regents. John Fulton was chair of the Chemistry department from 1907 to 1940.